A Moment for the Passionate

Written by Rachel Jolley

On May 6th, 2014, the passionate people from schools all over Nebo School District, competed in the District Poetry Slam for the three first places and the District Title.

To no one’s surprise, all of the poets "slammed" amazingly! Ten students represented PJHS at the District Slam. Of those ten, six students placed at District. Caili Bogen and Bailey Jansen tied for first place, with one other student from a different school. Micah Toelupe, Miah Rushton, Abby Gartrett, and Perla Barreda were all given honorable mentions.

 These students helped Payson win the District Title along with the highly coveted trophy- a giant pencil- which will sit in our trophy case until next year's slam. 

Congratulations to all of the students who worked so hard on their slams! This event gets better and better every year, and we look forward to next year’s slam!